Pages Menu
Categories Menu

Posted by on Jun 5, 2019 in The Watercooler

HRCAP Hosted Community Builders Award Dinner

HRCAP Hosted Community Builders Award Dinner

The Hampton Roads Community Action Program (HRCAP) hosted their 2019 Community Builders Award Dinner on Thursday, May 9 at Marriott City Center in Newport News. Emmy award-winning journalist, host and producer Ed Gordon was the event’s keynote speaker.

The Community Builders Awards Dinner is HRCAP’s annual fundraiser to support their 20 programs that reach 12,000 students, parents and clients across the region. Attendees included business leaders, elected officials, parents, educators, students and other stakeholders. This year’s Honorary Dinner Chair was J.D. Myers, II, senior vice president and region manager of Cox Communications Virginia, and the recipient of the 2018 Norveleate Downing-Gross Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Community Builders Awards were presented to individuals and organizations who have demonstrated a commitment to service and transforming lives within their communities. This year, HRCAP honored the following Community Builders:

Sen. Mamie Locke, Virginia Senate District 2—Norveleate Downing-Gross Lifetime Achievement Award

Metropolitan Funeral ServicesCorporate Citizenship Action Award

Shawn Avery, President & CEO, Hampton Roads Workforce CouncilCorporate Citizenship Action Award

Hakima Muhammad, Executive Director, Sister to Sister, Inc.Community Citizenship Action Award

Joy L. Phelps, Director, Hampton University Child Development Center—Robert O. Bigelow Award

Hon. Shelly Simonds, Member, Newport News School Board—Community Trailblazer Award

Terion Edward Rogers, Senior, Heritage High School—Youth Leadership Award (Peninsula)

Jaelin N. Mitchell, Senior, Booker T. Washington High School—Youth Leadership Award (Southside)

468 ad