ODU Board of Visitors Elects New Officers

by CoVaBizMag

By Amber Kennedy

On Sept. 14, the Old Dominion University Board of Visitors elected a new slate of officers, including former newspaper executive Bruce Bradley as rector.

He replaces Kay Kemper, who recently announced she will remain on the board, but asked to step aside from her leadership role to focus more on her family. Kemper was honored for her leadership on the board and her more than 30 years of service to ODU with a plaque and flowers.

Prior to his retirement, Bradley served as president of Landmark Publishing Group and executive vice president of Landmark Media Enterprises, LLC.

Bradley received his B.S. in business administration from Villanova University in 1971 and an M.B.A. from ODU in 1978. The University awarded Bradley an honorary doctoral degree in 2010 and a Distinguished Alumni Award in 2015. He is also a Navy veteran. Among his many philanthropic gifts to ODU, he established the Bruce and Lilly Bradley Distinguished Research Fellowship in Coastal Resilience in 2018.

Toykea S. Jones was unanimously named vice rector. She has both a B.S. in chemistry and an M.E. in environmental engineering from ODU and has endowed three scholarships. A first-generation graduate and Norfolk native, Jones has also worked extensively on philanthropic efforts in Hampton Roads.

Jones has been employed by Johnson & Johnson in various roles since 2005 and is now senior manager for commercial operations.

Yvonne T. Allmond was unanimously elected secretary. She is executive vice president and community financial engagement officer at TowneBank.

She previously served as senior vice president in the Private Banking Group in TowneBank's Norfolk corporate offices and has more than 30 years of financial experience. She graduated with a B.B.A. in finance from The George Washington University. Allmond serves on numerous nonprofit boards, including the Barry Art Museum.

"It is a great honor to be named rector," Bradley said. "We are fortunate to have a talented and dedicated Board of Visitors. All of us look forward to an exciting and productive future working with our new president, Dr. Brian Hemphill.”

Related Posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept

Privacy & Cookies Policy